Last Semester Starts!

After a good three weeks break, it’s finally time for the new semester to start. But more importantly, this is going to be the last semester of my Bachelor Degree!! By the time this post is up (Oct 24, 8:00 AM, GMT+7), I am probably already half way to my university (morning class starts at 9:00 AM).

Aw man, time flies so fast. Recently, I kept seeing Facebook status updates from my senior friends, who already graduated before me, complaining about how they miss school life, lol.

To be honest, I’m having mixed feeling about graduation.

A part of me still wants to stay at the university as a student. I mean really, what’s more awesome than not having to care about anything in the world and getting free allowances every month? You don’t even have any serious responsibility as a student (well, aside from studying and maintaining good grades). You can cut classes any time you want (although I’ve never really done that, honest) and you can practically hang out with your friends once every week.

However, another part of me can’t wait for the graduation day. There are quite a number of reasons for this:

  1. I’m tired of studying. Seriously, I’ve been doing this for…like…19 years already (3 years pre-elementary, 6 years elementary, 2 years intermediate school, 4 years high school, and this is the fourth year of university). Granted, I love the majors I am studying right now, but I hate having to memorize stuffs as well as the stress that comes with it in exam rooms.
  2. I’m ready for something much more challenging. Seriously, nothing in classes is all that hard. It’s just the matter of sitting through the tedium and memorizing all that texts into your head. This is why I like most Accounting subjects (that isn’t Auditing and Taxation) since there is only a minimal amount of stuffs you have to memorize.
  3. As much as getting free allowances is an awesome idea, I want to help my parents in terms of finance. Our family business has been running really rough lately. With more and more technologies being introduced to our world, Conventional Publishing has becoming a slowly dying business, unless you are the supplier for stuffs like big Magazine Company or Newspaper Press. At the very least, upon my graduation, they would no longer have to pay over 100,000 Baht per year for my Tuition Fee any more. (As of the moment, 1 USD = about 30 Baht)

So yeah, especially the last reason, that’s why I want to get out of school already. It is gonna be tough, I kept telling that to myself. But I am more than confident that I can tackle it head on. >:D

Since this is going to be my last semester, I might as well try my best in my studies and enjoy it while it lasts. Compared to my High School Senior year, this felt A LOT less dramatic. So many terrible things happened around the end of my High School Junior year, and that sort of made the senior year such a pain for me to endure. University life is a lot different though. I felt refreshed and enjoyed almost every day that passed, since I get to actually be the person that I truly am, not a timid nerd who is afraid of being bullied. Unlike those days, I wish university life never ends >_<.

But well, time flies the fastest when you are enjoying something. I guess that’s the best evidence that I thoroughly enjoyed myself. 😀

Oh, and as a reminder for those who are wondering about my job, it does not start until May 1, 2013. A couple of days ago, I just replied to KPMG’s contract signing confirmation email, which states the benefits the company offers, the date of contract signing (which is November 19, 2012), and the starting date. It will be a while before that happens, but I’ll be sure to share what happens both on the contract signing day and my first day of work. 😀

Thank you for visiting my blog and reading my random posts! I hope you enjoyed my randomness, and I’ll see you again next time. Until then, please take care!

4 thoughts on “Last Semester Starts!

  1. Work life is kinda cool though. Think about it. At the end of the month, you will be smelling your hard earn money. Also, if you like your job, you will be enjoying every single day.

Comments are closed.